MINUTES¹ UNIVERSITY SENATES CONFERENCE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

DATE: Friday, June 28, 2024, 9:00 a.m.

PLACE: University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, I Hotel & Conference Center, Lincoln

Room

PRESENT: Burbules, Dallesasse, De Groote, Dunning, Erricolo, Hobbs, Jenkins,

Kalita, Lyons, Moorhouse, Sharma, Symes, Tolliver, Weuve (Chair)

ONLINE: Danziger, Leff, Peiravian

ABSENT: Campbell, Wink

GUEST: William Maher

I. Call to Order

Professor Weuve called the 2023-2024 University Senates Conference Organizational Meeting to order at 9:27 a.m. Professor Weuve (UIS) serves as the Chair of the Nominating Committee in addition to Professor Danziger (UIC), and Professor Moorhouse (UIUC).

II. Election of 2024-2025 Chair and Vice Chair

Professor Weuve opened the floor for additional nominations. There were none. Professor Moorhouse moved to close the nominations and Professor Hobbs seconded. The motion was approved with a voice vote by USC Members in-person and by roll call vote for members attending on Zoom.

Yes: Burbules, Dallesasse, De Groote, Dunning, Erricolo, Hobbs, Jenkins,

Kalita, Lyons, Moorhouse, Sharma, Symes, Tolliver, Weuve (Chair)

Online: Danziger, Leff, Peiravian

No: None Abstain: None

Mr. Perryn distributed paper ballots for members in the room that are serving during the 2024-2025 Academic Year (USC *Bylaws* item 4.3.7) and requested that members voting remotely email him their votes. Professor Weuve and Mr. Perryn tallied the votes from members in the room and from members online. By acclamation, the nominee Jeffrey Eric Jenkins for USC Chair and nominee Sandra De Groote for USC Vice Chair were elected.

III. Election of 2024-2025 Executive Committee (remaining members)

Professor Weuve noted that with the election of Jeffrey Eric Jenkins (UIUC) as Chair, and Sandra De Groote (UIC) as Vice Chair, there is one remaining position on the Executive Committee for UIC and UIUC respectively. Two positions are available for UIS.

Mr. Perryn distributed paper ballots for members in the room and requested that members voting remotely email him their votes. Professor Weuve and Mr. Perryn tallied the votes from members in the room and from members online. Amy Dunning (UIS), Lynn Fisher (UIS),

¹Subject to approval at the University Senates Conference meeting on August 22, 2024

University Senates Conference Organizational Meeting June 28, 2024 Page 2

Angela Lyons (UIUC), and Donald Wink (UIC) were elected to the Executive Committee.

IV. Appointment of Membership to USC Committees (enclosed)

Professor Weuve inquired with USC if there were any additional nominations. There were none. Professor Tolliver motioned to approve the slate, and it was seconded by Professor Moorhouse.

The motion was approved with a voice vote by continuing USC Members in-person and by roll call vote for members attending on Zoom.

Yes: De Groote, Dunning, Erricolo, Hobbs, Jenkins, Kalita, Lyons, Moorhouse,

Sharma, Symes, Tolliver

Online: Danziger, Leff, Peiravian

No: None Abstain: None

Academic Affairs and Research Committee (AARC):

Keia Hobbs (UIC) Prasanta Kalita (UIUC) Farid Peiravian (UIC) Steven Schwinn (UIC) Sudeep Sharma (UIS) Carol Symes (UIUC

Finance, Budget, and Benefits Committee (FBBC):

Roy Campbell (UIUC) Larry Danziger (UIC) Amy Dunning (UIS) Danilo Erricolo (UIC) Carol Leff (UIUC) Angela Lyons (UIUC)

Statutes and Governance Committee (SGC):

Sandra De Groote (UIC) Lynn Fisher (UIS) Jon Hale (UIUC) William Maher (UIUC) Linda Moorhouse (UIUC) Joyce Tolliver (UIUC) Donald Wink (UIC)

V. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 9:49 a.m.